NBN + Telstra Netgear C6300BD Fix

Today a technician from NBN came over to my house and installed the device. My house is connected to the NBN network via NBN Hybrid Fibre Coaxial (HFC).

“An nbn Hybrid Fibre Coaxial (HFC) connection is used in circumstances where the existing ‘pay TV’ or cable network can be used to make the final part of the nbn™ network connection.”

HFC NBN is not great but hey, it’s better than nothing. It uses the oldest Australia’s multi-technology component which is the old cable network that connects Foxtel subscription TV. I live in an old suburb where I get constant internet dropouts (ADSL2) when it rains.

I believe HFC to FTTP is still in under development.
The ranks from best to worst.
FTTP > FTTN > HFC
4.PNG
Anyway, back to the story. I tried connecting my Telstra Netgear C6300BD WAN port to the NBN device with an ethernet cable. My router had the downstream led lights kept on flashing. No internet. FYI, once we switched over to NBN, the normal phone line won’t work anymore and this modem is not compatible with the phone as there is no phone line port. Have to get another modem that supports the phone line. If power/NBN line goes down, your phone line goes down too unless you have a backup battery supplied to the line. I troubleshooted and found a temporary solution until I get a new modem.

I have opted for 100/40 speed with Telstra. I was with iiNet ADSL2+ and the speed has gotten worse. Speed was Download Speed: 5mbit, Upload 1mbit. Parent’s was constantly streaming and surfing the internet was unbearable, the internet standstill when I tried to surf on my PC. Tried QoS and no luck. About 5+ devices connected to the network. After 10 years with iiNet (Loyal customer!!). We finally gave in and moved to Telstra Cable. The plan was 30/1 with speed boost addon.

Click here to view the post on the solution.

Leave a Reply

